depottree.blogg.se

Setup mac for flutter development
Setup mac for flutter development








setup mac for flutter development
  1. #Setup mac for flutter development driver#
  2. #Setup mac for flutter development pro#
  3. #Setup mac for flutter development Pc#

The one time I did see it climb up to 99% for a few minutes was when the compiler was running as part of the node install, not entirely sure what it was doing, but kept it up there for a good 10+ minutes. Generally speaking with apps running in dev mode I seldom get the CPU above 30%, as I am typing this now it is hovering between 15 and 18% and I have Safari and Chrome running with 1 tab in chrome and 18 in Safari, IDEA is running 2 projects both active and am playing music as well as have the usual chat apps, terminal, time logger, etc running. So far I am yet to find anything that does not work, or that is obviously working badly with the M1. I think it takes about 2–3 hours on my 60w charger. Have not paid much attention to charging times, I have so far only had to do that at the end of the day, so plug it in and walk away really. Generally speaking, I would avg 2 days on a single charge, this makes it a great travel machine when you can confidently be away from power for hours on end.Ĭomparatively the 15" that I had, I think the best I ever got off a single charge was around 4 maybe 5 hours, it was about a year old when I got this one and it was pretty close to 2.5, maybe 3 hours. So working on both web and mobile apps, the battery life is insane, I can easily get through a really busy, screen practically never off day on a single charge if it gets a bit more chilled and I am focusing more on the requirements and documentation side of things I can get up to 4 days on a single charge. My IDE of choice is IntelliJ IDEA, VSCode just does not cut it for me, and I do at least think there are some very useful things I get from II that amaze people using VS, so well worth the small fee. I think the important part really comes down to how well it performs on a day-to-day with actual work.įor context, the tech I work with daily is Flutter, but I also have a few side/personal projects in node and use docker as part of some of those development requirements.

#Setup mac for flutter development pro#

My desk with the 13" M1 Macbook Pro Development usage… The biggest “con” for me with using the smaller unit is the trackpad, that reduced size I do notice. Also, I do tend to travel a bit with the machine and I also have both a seated and standing desk in my home office so I am most certainly not about to buy 2 monitors. The smaller screen has not bothered me in the slightest, and personally do not make use of external monitors, for me, with the gestures and virtual desktops, I always found myself more productive, or at least it feels that way and I guess that’s the important bit.

#Setup mac for flutter development driver#

Initial impressions…įast-forward a few weeks, this has been my daily driver for around 3 weeks now and I do find that I actually like the keyboard much better, raised keys just feel nicer for me, maybe I like the longer travel, not something I give too much thought to.

setup mac for flutter development

I was not planning on writing this at the time, so none of those benchmarks are saved anywhere, but at least on those, it did score higher, pretty close to the 20% ish marks you see in some of the online reviews. This allowed me to have a bit of fun and actually run benchmarks on both and compare. I got the new Mac before finishing up at the company I was working with, so for a short time, I had both the 15" I9 Pro and the new 13" M1 Pro sitting on my desk. Initially, I had planned on waiting for the upcoming 16" M1X/M2 or whatever they intend to call it, however, I went ahead and grabbed the 13" Pro with 16GB ram.

#Setup mac for flutter development Pc#

Recently I took a position as a contract worker, while the job was interesting, the timing could have been better as I obviously moved from company-provided hardware to personal hardware.Īs a very comfortable Mac user, having been using one since 2018 already, going back to windows, or even Linux was not really ideal for me, and let’s be honest, a dev quality PC would have cost about the same as the M1 anyway.

setup mac for flutter development setup mac for flutter development

My desk with both the 15" i9 and 13" M1 MacBook Pro’s










Setup mac for flutter development